Radiology Technician Interview

rad techWhat’s your job title?
Radiology technologist.
Tell us about your education?
– I went to elementary middle school and high school here and then I went on to university of Mary and did four years there.
What do you do in your job?
– Totally depends on the day I guess, we rotate in different areas of radiology whether it’s just regular diagnostic or surgery or fluoro which is live X-ray, I guess, it just depends on where you are at, everyday is different.
How many hours do you normally work?
– Forty hours a week.
Do you take work home with you?
– Yeah, you have to because you have to continue in education, the field is always changing so you have to lift standards, you have to meet so to keep your license, you have to do all these education things whether they are these magazines, quizzes, tests.

How would you describe the pace at what you work.
– Very fast, all of our patients are critical so you have work quickly and efficiently.
How has your education prepared you for your career?
– I would say my college education, my first two years were all the bookwork of everything and my last two years were so hands on that once I graduated, I didn’t need any on the job training, I knew what was expected of me and how to do my.
Why did you choose this career?
– I guess growing up in high school, I was a cheerleader and I bet you I was in the ER once a month for something broken, this broken, that and right away, that kind of intrigued me but once I looked into it, I kind of loved the technology aspect of it and how every radiology imaging is coming out with all new equipment, so it’s a changing field and it’s growing.
What goals do you have in your career?
– I guess, just gain as much confidence as you can, you work one on one with doctors a lot and that can be intimidating so just to gain your bearings and be confident in everything.
What do you think it takes to be successful in this career?
– I think confidence, a good attitude and absolute teamwork.

radiology imagesDo you travel for your job?
– Rarely, it depends, there is travel in a radiology job where you travel with mobile equipment and you go to small towns and stuff where they don’t have these type of equipment otherwise we will travel very far, we will travel to site visits to see what type of equipment they have.
What do you find are the most difficult decisions to make?
– I think when it involves paediatrics, everything with them is so legal based so you almost can’t make a mistake with them because it will come back in courts, everything is very life threatening with them so sometimes you have to make a judgement call and it’s scary when it’s a kid versus an adult.
Do you work independently or on a team.
– Both, sometimes we have to work independently but our job is much easier and you work more efficiently as a team.

Can you give me some examples of teamwork?
– A lot of our patients can’t stand, can’t move so it takes a couple of us to lift them over or some person to stand with the patient with the lead aprons on while the other person exposes or does your paperwork, definitely need teamwork.
And any advice that you can give to a high school student to make an entrance in this area or field?
– Definitely job shadow, X-ray is not radiology, it’s not just coming in if you wrist is hurting, getting a fracture or taking plain films of that, X-ray is ultrasound, CT, MRI, radiation therapy and the list goes on and on and that’s what I love about our field, a lot of people just [Inaudible], ok you come in and you just put your hand on here and that’s it, there is a lot of intricate angles and views the doctor is specifically looking for so there is a lot more to it than that so I think it’s important to get in job shadow.

